Train Elementary Level Spell, Magic Arrow to the Absolute Limit ~the exiled noble student not giving up, train to become the strongest~

Chapter 2 Episode 2
Albert’s pastーーFreen, a friend



A month passed after we enrolled into the academy.

Laura and I are having our lunch in the cafeteria. This has been our routine since our first day here.
As we expected from the start, both of us could not make any new friends here.

It is because of my age for my case. I really stood out in the class since I am a 26 years old in a class with an average age around 15. I know that my classmates respect me as an elder person but on the contrary I feel sorry for them for always being considerate to me all the time even though we are in the same grade.
On the other hand, it is because of her lineage for Laura’s case. Just as what she expected, her origin was already widespread among the students and they have already been avoiding her in general.

So with that, both of us always hang around each other.
……we knew each other to a certain degree and our chemistry is good so far. So I have no complaints.

「Why do things have to be so complicated」

I muttered.

「What are you referring to?」

「Making friends」

「Did Albert-san wanted to make new friends after all?」

「……no, not particularly, I don’t really care about it but, it was different for Laura」

「Hehe」

Laura had a bittersweet smile after hearing that.

「I told you what would happen before. It is impossible for me」

「It does seems so……」

Laura has a good heart. If possibleーーI would like her to experience a normal and enjoyable student life. Instead of hanging out with someone like me who is 10+ years older than her, she would probably have a healthier lifestyle hanging around girls around her age.

「It’s fine. I thought I would not even to be able to make a single friend but, now Albert-san is here with me!」

「……You’re right……If you like me to hang around though」

「I like it a lot!」

Laura smiled cheerfully.

「Oh yea. Albert-san you were also 15 years old once right?」

「Yes. I was not 26 years old immediately after I was born」

「Do you have any friends, back when you are still a student?」

「A friend huh…….」

I dove into the depths of my memory.
Back when I am a studentーーI had quite a lot of friends immediately after I was enrolled into the academy. The heir of a marquis ranked noble family. That status helped out a lot in my social life.

But, those friendships were just scratching around the surface.

After they realize I am just a worthless magicianーーafter they knew that instead of the incompetent older brother, it was the superior younger brother who is going to succeed the houseーーall of them back away from me like tides in the ocean before a tsunami.

There were only two people left that did not give up on me after learning about those facts.
Both of them tried to encourage me to the day before the last test in my first year.

「It is going to be fine. I know about all the efforts and hard work you put in. The rewards will always go to the ones who endures until the end right?」

One of them is a male, Lucard.
A youth from a noble family who aims to become a magic knight. He had a physique around twice of my size due to his training with swords since he was a kid.

「That’s right! You are going to be fine! Albert-kun, you will make it this time! Give it your best shot!」

Another one of them is a female, Freen.
A girl with a small build, a head full of naturally curly hair and wearing a big pair of glasses that sticks out obviously on her face.

Both of them did not give up on me until the very end.

I ran, I ran away, betraying their trustーー
both of themーーthe only two people who put their trust in me.

I felt something was pressing down on my chest.
Haaaaaa, I exhaled heavily.

「A, a, Ah! I, I, I, I’m sorry!? I shouldn’t remind you that right?」
「No……It’s fine……I did have two friends back thenーー」

I thought about it before using the word ‘friends’.
I wonder if it is fine for me to describe them as my friends. Am I even qualified to say they were my friends after that.

And alsoーー
do they still think of me as a friend…….

It was at that moment.

「Ah, there you are! You are Laura-san right?」

A lady interrupted our conversation.
I could not see her face from here clearly since she was facing Laura who was sitting on the opposite side but, I could tell from her attire, she is probably a staff member from the faculty. It was a lady with a small build and has a head full of naturally curly hair.

「Yes, I am Laura, what is the matter?」

「I want you to participate on a water quality survey starting tomorrow!」

「Eh?」

Laura was surprised.

Water quality surveyーーfrom what I know, that was a survey for one of the largest lakes in the empire that was polluted rapidly since the beginning of this year. I also heard the task handed to the academy and on the occasion, some of the students from the academy will be taken there for a field trip.

And of course the students selected was not a random process.
You would realize that is not random by only looking at which students were selected. Those who were selected were clearly the manifestation of the academy’s expectations.

The competition started long ago, even before the selection process.

Laura and I knew she was not selected for the field trip around last week after we submitted the required documents to Viribus.

「There was some mistake in the list! We found out the mistake just now! We were going let Viribus tell you about it but it seems he was out today! It was a unexpected news for you, are you still willing to join it?」

「E, y, Yes. I would like to……?」

「Sorry about the mistake! Here, take these, details for the trip!」

The lady took out an envelope and passed it to Laura swiftly.

Then I joined the conversation and said.

「I am glad that you were selected」

Laura was selected as one of the students for the field trip. Which means she is still in the list of observations of the academy.
She is different from me, she has the talent for magic. Laura belongs to a better place compared to where she is in now. I am really glad that the academy recognized her talent.

「Why are you talking like it was none of your business? Albert-kun was selected to the field trip too?」

The lady said that and turned towards me.

It was a lady who is wearing a big pair of glasses that sticks out obviously on her face.

…….
……eh?

A face from my memory was overlapping on her face in my vision.
The face of a young girl that I met almost everyday 10+ years agoーー
had the same face with the lady in front of me. She was stunned and looked at me with her eyes widened as if she was completely paralyzed.

「……Albert-kun……? Are you really that Albert-kun? I thought it was just a coincidence you have the same age, but now……」

I knew about her.
I know her name.

「Freenーー」

That was her name.
For the first time in 10+ years, I was reunited with an old friend at the same academy I left 10+ years ago.