Train Elementary Level Spell, Magic Arrow to the Absolute Limit ~the exiled noble student not giving up, train to become the strongest~

Chapter 2 Episode 1
The entrance ceremony of the imperial magic academy



At the entrance ceremonyーー
The old president of the academy was standing on the stage of the auditorium. He had a nice,  laid-back aura and said his opening speech in a soft stone.

「O my dear talented students who are aiming to become a magician. I feel proud of all of you, who were successfully enrolled in this imperial magic academy. I, and all our faculty staff, sincerely congratulate and welcome all of you. I will be looking forward to the future where all of you applied what you have learned here for the empire and leave a big footprint in the history of the empire. Good luck to all of you」

And just like that, all of us there became the students of the academy.
We headed to our own classrooms as instructed after the ceremony ended. By some strange coincidence, Laura and I are in the same class.
A young man with his trademark short goatee stands in front of the teacher’s lectern.

「My name is Viribus and I will be your homeroom teacher for a year. Pleased to meet you」

Viribus said “Let’s start our class” and then continued “When I was a student, I would just ignore the teacher whoever said those words”, etc, etc to make the students laugh.

「After all, I was in the same class as the court mage Carlyle you see? There is no point to try hard because no one who can surpass him」

Viribus laughed out loud after saying that.
Same class with Carlyleーーafter learning that fact, the enthusiasm and admiration in the students’ eyes increased significantly.
……it seems that genius court mage is really popular here huh…….
Viribus, a carefree teacher, also seems popular among the students.
After all the jokes and introduction, Viribus continued as if he just remembered something important.

「Oh ya, right. I almost forgot to tell you something」

Then, he put his hand into his pocket and felt around his pocket.
He took something small from his pocket and put those on the table by rolling those like a dice.
Then he took it with another hand, holding it high up to show us what it is.

「Some of you might not see it clearly butーーthis is our school emblem」

The crest of the imperial magic academy is engraved on its surface.

「You all have not received your emblems yet. Do you want one of these? Too bad. This is not something that can be hand out to every student here」

Viribus pauses for a while before continuing to talk just to gather all the attention in the room.

「This will only be given to the students who reach a certain grade in the tests. This is the first emblem, the『Stone』emblem. You will need to get one of this before your first year ended」

「……What would happen, if some of us could not get one of that?」

One of the students asked.
Viribus smiled and answered.

「You will be expelled」

Students in the room started to whisper and talk to each other.

I did not react to that. Did not even waver from that.
Because I already knew about that. Nothing had changed back when I was a student.

Some of the students were shaken by that but, there is no need to be wary about that. Because the difficulty level for that is extremely mildーーeven if you live a normal student life, anyone who improves under a normal curve can achieve that grade.
……but not for me 10+ years ago.
I still could not get one even to the very end of my time here. As I was about to take the final grading test for that yearーー I ran away from the academy because I was crushed by the stress and disappointment in myself.

That is the emblem I could not get.
I wonder if I could get it this time.
What would I feel if I could get it this time?

I want one.

That is what I was thinking at that time.
Viribus put down the『Stone』emblem and reached for another emblem.

「Come on guys, please don’t panic over just a『Stone』! Everyone should be able to get a 『Stone』. This is an『Iron』emblem, the next emblem after 『Stone』. You will be expelled if you fail to get it by your second year. You should need be more careful about this」

After that, Viribus held up a new shiny emblem.

「Now, this is the last emblem for the minimum requirement, the 『Silver』emblem. You will not be able to graduate from this academy if you do not get this by your third year. You will have to give it your all on this one. However……this is not the final emblem in the line」

KuKuKuKu, Viribus held up another two emblems with his other hand while laughing.

「You will be able to graduate from this academy after obtaining all the emblems until 『Silver』 . But if you outperform the grade of silver, you will be awarded with a 『Gold』emblem, furthermore you will be awarded 『Mithril』 if you perform even higher than that. You should know that grades higher than『Gold』is extremely hard. That will be an achievement of your lifetime. Try to do your best for this one」

「Sensei」

One of the students raised his hand.

「What is it?」

「Sir, you also graduated from here right? Can I ask what is your highest emblem?」

「I am just an ordinary 『Silver』! What about it!」

Students in the classroom get excited after hearing that.

「How about Carlyle-sama who is in the same class as you?」

「Hmm, he reached 『Mithril』around the time before his third year started」

At that momentーー
the classroom went completely silent.
Students there probably realized it by only listening to that sentence. The insurmountable difference in abilities, talents that lies between an ordinary person and a genius.
Viribus waved his hand around and said.

「Well, that was because he was something else. Do not compare yourself to him. He does not fit in the system. For now, take someone like me as our target and give your best shot」

「So, does that mean we should start by aiming low?」

「Yes, you are rightーーhold on, Oi! Are you just making fun of me?」

Students in the classroom laughed in response. The atmosphere in the classroom turned cheerfully after that.

「……anyways, that’s it about the emblems. Your target for now should be on the『Stone』. Before you get your first emblem, you are physically here but you are not really a student from the imperial magic academy. Do you get what I mean? Please get it as soon as possible so that we the faculty can recognize you as a student from the imperial magic academy, we are currently only consider you only as half a student」

Viribus had a daring smile on his face and said 「That is all for today, dismissed!」before leaving the room.
All of the students stood up and cleaned their surroundings before returning home.
As I was packing up my belongings sluggishly, Laura spoke to me.

「Albert-san! I am glad that we are in the same class! For now let’s aim for the 『Stone』first! Let’s give it our best shot!」

「Right」

The『Stone』emblem.
The emblem I could not get even to the very end last time.

As what our homeroom teacher said just now. Before I have the emblem in my hand, ‘I am physically here but I am not really a student from the imperial magic academy’.
Following his reasoning, I was not able to truly become a student from the imperial magic academy even at the very end 10+ years ago.

I was just physically here in this academy.

That is why I wanted it so badly. I swore to myself. This time for sure.
I will probably truly understand the meaning behind why I am back here again after 10+ years at the moment I achieve what I could not last time.
I turned to Laura smiling and said.

「Yes, let’s do our best」