Train Elementary Level Spell, Magic Arrow to the Absolute Limit ~the exiled noble student not giving up, train to become the strongest~

Chapter 1 Episode 13
Goblin slayer (part 1 of 2)



The accuracy of the arrows from the villagers was good and the arrows pierced through both the goblins standing beside the entrance to the cave.
On the other hand, one of the Magic Arrows from Laura landed a direct hit in the head of the goblins on the leftーーbut, another Magic Arrow landed only on the shoulder of the goblin on the right.

「I am sorry……!」

Laura apologized as if she was suffocating.
The left one peeled its eyes and collapsed but the right one was just staggered by the arrow.

「Gwiii!?」

「What are you doing!?」

Garcia shouted as if he was going to bite someone and glared at Laura.

「Urghh, shoot it, just shoot again!」

Garcia gave his next order in a hurry but, the second volley of arrows were unable to land a hit on the goblin who was running towards the cave.

「You useless crap!」

Garcia yelled.

That goblin jumped in the cave and made a bunch of loud noises.

I threw the stone placed near to my feet into the cave, the stone which Laura had cast a Lighting spell before the assault began.
The stone I threw lit up the surrounding in the cave around it.

There are around 10+ goblins with crude swords and shields rushing out from the cave while yelling in anger.

Garcia yelled.

「Villagers! To the front! Hold the line against these lowly goblins!」

「W, what are you talking about!? Isn’t fighting in the front line your job as a soldier!? Is all that equipment you wearing are just for show!?」

「This is tactic for defeating the goblins efficiently, we who have the offensive power is much more effective as the reserve force!」

「Are you planning to expose the villagers even more!?」

I did not have any expectation from the beginning but even I feel that Garcia’s attitude is just scummy.
I can not bear to hear those conversation anymore…….
I pointed my right hand towards the direction of the cave.
I chanted the magic words at the moment when the vanguard force of the goblins were about to step out of the cave.

「Magic Arrow」

GOOooom!
An explosive sound echoed through the place as if a huge boulder crashed into the ground falling from a cliff.
The noisy yelling from the goblins became completely silent after that.
At the same time, the arguing between the villagers and Garcia also stopped.

「W, what just happened……?」

Garcia was in a state of shock and whispered those words.
One brave villager approached the cave cautiously and stealthily peeked into the cave.
Then, he turned back here to report what he saw.

「Th, they are all dead. The goblins who were rushing out from the cave……」

「OOOOoooo!」

Both the villagers and soldiers were surprised at the outcome.

「Y, you, are you strong magician?」

Garcia looked at me with a surprised expression.

「……not really……」

I shook my head. I am just a man who can only use a single spell. I am as weak as possible in this world where the rank of a magician is decided by the number of spells he/she can use.
I was honestly embarrassed about that……..
Then I asked Garcia.

「Is that all of them?」

「N, no……. There should be around 50+ goblins in this horde. On top of that, there is also a goblin lord in there」

Goblin lordーーcertainly a very dangerous creature. A normal goblin can be defeated even by a villager if he is confident in his fighting skills, on the other hand I heard that a goblin lord is considered a serious threat even for a skilled warrior if he/she is careless.
It was dangerous to the point where the goblin lord is excluded from this subjugation mission.
I stood up and walked towards the entrance of the cave.
And pointed out my right hand.

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

With every spell I chanted, a white arrow glides into the cave. With every arrow I shot, a roaring sound of ‘GOOM’ echoed through the ground.
The Magic Arrows I shot were ricocheting. I modified the arrows to be able to bounce off when they landed on a wall. As soon as the barrage of my ricocheting magic arrows landed on a soft and fleshy target, they would land on the target and then explode.
Some terrible things are probably happening at the back of the cave right now.
……I feel sorry for them, but it can not be helped.
Because there are actual cases where Laura’s village is being terrorized. We are human while they are creatures that harm humans. So we have to exterminate them here.
Just like humans who crush mosquitoes that sucks blood from them.
In the end, there is no difference between both cases.

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

「Magic Arrow」

He said they are around 50+ huh.
Taking into account that some of the arrows will miss, I shot around 100+ in addition just in case. That amount should probably be enough.
I turned back and asked.

「This should be enough, right?」

「A, are you sure……?」

Garcia and the other 4 soldiers went and peeked inside the cave.
……, after confirming the quiet surroundings, he raised his voice in high spirits abruptly.

「Very goooooooooooood! Now let’s check the status of the nest! Villagers, 5 of you, come with us! And also the magicians too!」

Garcia pushed a torch to the leading villager and they headed straight to the back of the cave.
As I was following behind them, I heard a voice come from behind.

「Albert-san, you are a, amazing……」

It was Laura.

「No, no……it’s not like what you imagined……」

I shook my head.
Even Laura could use more numbers of spells compared to me. Naturally, Laura has a higher rank than me. I felt ashamed about it.
We followed them further into the cave.

「Hahaaa! Good! Look at all these goblin corpses!」

Garcia let out an energetic voice.
The scene was as described by Garcia, exploded goblin corpses were laying on the ground here and there.
Occasionally, some half-dead goblins can be found laying around, but Garcia attacked them without mercy and finished them off.

「HAHAHAHA! All of these are going to be my credit, mine! HAHAHAHA!」

And finally, we reach the innermost location of the cave.
The surroundings there were slightly different compared to the way we came. The surroundings became unexpectedly wide and the place was decorated with furniture made from wood and animal skulls.
In some way, giving off a feeling of elegance in goblins’ culture.
This was probably the room for the goblin lord.
The half-dead goblins can also be found laying around in the room. Garcia was pouncing joyfully on the dying goblins to finish them off.

Then at that momentーー
I noticed something.

There was a pile of goblin corpses in the back of the room. And the pile of corpses are shaking left and right.

「Graaaaaaghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!」

Something stood up from the pile of corpses, launching the corpses away while making the scream.
It was a 2m tall goblin. And it is holding a large battleaxe on its right hand.
Garcia mutters its name known to humans with a dry voice.

「G……Goblin Lord!?」





***
2m = 2′ 4″